The Colombia goalkeeper’s lack of attention, or understanding of the rules, cost his team with huge ramifications
David Ospina has been in rotten form for his country with his two errors against Paraguay putting Colombia in jeopardy of missing out on the 2018 World Cup.
Despite Los Cafeteros securing an automatic passage to Russia, Ospina left his mark on the qualifier with Peru, playing an integral part in Paolo Guerrero’s equaliser with the game finishing 1-1.
The draw in Lima ultimately meant that Chile missed out altogether by finishing in sixth after being thrashed 3-0 by Brazil, meaning Alexis Sanchez will now have to sit at home to watch next summer.
But Sanchez and Chile would be heading for a play-off had his Arsenal teammate Ospina just been alert or simply aware of the rules.
Ospina couldn’t stop Guerrero’s shot – but he didn’t need to
Peru were awarded an indirect free-kick on the edge of the area and initial doubt led to a debate as to whether James Rodriguez, in the wall, got a nudge on it before Ospina – replays suggest otherwise.
Referee Sandro Ricci pointed to his arm when Juan Cuadrado remonstrated with him about the fact that the freekick had been indirect, and pointed towards Ospina as the reason the goal had been allowed to stand.
Peru will not care how it came after clinching fifth and will now look ahead to a play-off against New Zealand, in which they will be a favourite to reach Russia 2018.
Ospina and Colombia celebrated wildly in Lima after the game, having secured their spot in Russia – Sanchez and Chile will no doubt be pig sick when they realise exactly how they were eliminated.