Cheatle & Mcgrath In Australia Squad For Women’s Ashes

Lauren Cheatle is among six uncapped Test players in the squad
Written by admin

Uncapped pair Lauren Cheatle and Tahlia McGrath have recovered from injury and are in Australia’s 15-strong Test squad for the Women’s Ashes.

Cheatle, 18, out for six months with a shoulder injury, is fit enough to face England in the multi-format series.

McGrath, 21, played her first match in eight months on October 6 following a stress fracture in pre-season.

Ashleigh Gardner, Belinda Vakarewa, Amanda-Jade Wellington and Beth Mooney are the other uncapped squad members.

Left-arm quick Cheatle and all-rounder Tahlia McGrath are in both the one-day and the Test squads, with the latter set to be reduced to 13 following a three-day pink-ball warm-up against an ACT XI next month.

Fast bowler Vakarewa is the only player named in the Test squad who isn’t also in the one-day pool.

Former captain Meg Lanning is missing with a shoulder surgery that will rule her out for up to eight months so the side will be led by 30-year-old batsman Rachael Haynes.

National selector Shawn Flegler said: “This was a really tough selection process for the panel with some talented players missing out, but we’re confident we have selected a balanced side that has the potential to beat England and retain the Ashes.

“This series presents a golden opportunity for the team to reinstate themselves as the number one-ranked side in the world.”

Heather Knight’s England will look to regain the Ashes in the multi-format series that begins on 22 October with a one-day international in Brisbane.

Points are awarded across three one-day internationals, one Test and three Twenty20s.

Australia Test squad: Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Nicole Bolton, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Belinda Vakarewa, Elyse Villani, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

Australia ODI squad: Beams, Blackwell, Bolton, Cheatle, Gardner, Haynes, Healy, Jonassen, McGrath, Mooney, Perry, Schutt, Villani, Wellington.


About the author


Leave a Comment